Look better and live longer: how I lost 30 pounds and maintained a good physique

Abracadabra
8 min readMar 13, 2021

Paul Kalanithi made a great point in When Breath Becomes Air: your biological body is not only the container of your mind, it is an integral part of your spiritual self. They are inseparable. Thus the deterioration of one’s body is the degeneration of one’s mind. (Listen to how Warren Buffett told us about this idea.)

I’ve been fat or very fat for more than 30 years in my life. I’ve never been good at any sports, never confident about my physique. One pull up has been ridiculously hard. I thought I was born this way. I’m intellectually gifted but physically I’m meant to be unattractive and inferior to the average.

Beginning late 2018, I managed to physically revolutionize myself(see photos above). I’ve lost around 30 pounds. Many things got much easier with 30 pounds less, including pull ups.

This post describes my best practices for sustainable biological health. They were how I transformed myself in 2018 and keep myself healthy and energetic everyday. I hope it will help you as much as it helped me. Please use your common sense and consult a doctor before adopting any specific practice. I’m not professionally qualified for advice about dieting, workout or lifestyles.

Nutrition

--

--