On reading well

Abracadabra
7 min readAug 1, 2021

A person who won’t read has no advantage over one who can’t read.

– Mark Twain

Summary

This post shares my thoughts on reading in three folds.

  • The purpose of reading a book
  • Book as the technology boundary of human communication
  • Reading speed

Book is my most significant education format for ROI(gain per hour spent), the total volume of knowledge, and the consequences. I hope my insights can help others in becoming better people. As Mark Twain said, the deprivation of reading is a grave disfavor.

The purpose of serious reading

The purpose of reading, unlike the default belief, is not about getting information but learning. From the books, I learned new ways of thinking, perspective, or methodologies that, after being applied in real life, fundamentally changed the corresponding aspects, including investment, career development, influencing others, and many more.

  • I learned from Warren Buffet that investment is never about predicting the future but hoarding value production power at a fair, not cheap, price
  • I learned from Ray Dalio that the debt cycle is the driving the economic dynamic, rather than the other way around

--

--