How do I write engineering design docs in Google: an example

Abracadabra
6 min readApr 11, 2021

Documentation is one most important skills I learned during my tenure at Google, where document is used as a discussion format, source of truth, and knowledge organization. None other companies I worked at had equally deep understanding about using documentation for collaboration. This post is an example of how I would write a design doc. The project was actually built and in use. The source code will be accessible after gym booking is not required post COVID-19. To make it more fun, this is the Google Doc link that everyone can comment on. It’s also better formatted than what Medium supports.

Problem Statement

During COVID-19, gyms are required to control the number of total members on site. My gym requires members to book on a website before using. Booking on a date is open two days in advance, starting at the corresponding midnight. For example, the booking on 2021–04–01 will be open on 2021–03–30 00:00 AM local time.

There are a very limited number of spots for the swimming pool. After failing to book at 6 AM several times, I was told by a staff member that I will have to book at midnight due to the high volume of needs. Staying up till midnight breaks my flow, so it’s not acceptable. I feel bad to hire people doing this for me because deep down I think sleeping early is a core habit for a healthy and efficient lifestyle(see my pillar habits), it’s not moral to deprive anyone of a good habit by money. Being told that there is no work around…

--

--